Just a Little Bit of Flair

Posted on Updated on

Flair is what marks the difference between artistry and mere competence.

–William Riker, Star Trek: The Next Generation, “Time Squared”

I have been working on the jacket for the upcoming Con in Vegas; the Officer’s Jacket for Riker’s Wedding. I was excited when all the fabric arrived so I could begin. It was quite a project, I had to divvy up the work so I did not feel overwhelmed by the enormity of the project.

I started by laying everything out and labeling it. This is a huge project, so I wanted to be sure everything was in its place.

I started cutting everything out.

I started with the collar.

I was so happy with how the collar came out, I sent a picture of it to my husband right after finishing it! It wasn’t until a few steps later that I realized that I had made the collar out of the wrong color fabric. I blame the directions for not being clear about this, and also myself for not thinking it all the way through when I was marking everything out. So I got to make the collar again from the gray fabric this time.

After correcting that, I moved on to the cuffs and sleeves:

Following this was the quilting:

As I continue to plug away at this I will keep you posted with my progress!

One thought on “Just a Little Bit of Flair

    Grateful Geek said:
    June 19, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    Looking great so far! Can’t wait to see the finished project!

    Like

Leave a Reply

