Steampunk World’s Fair!

Posted on Updated on

Many, many man hours went into making our outfits for the Steampunk World’s Fair.

The Steampunk World’s Fair is the largest Steampunk festival in the world.  For one weekend in May they take over a couple of hotels in Piscataway, New Jersey and make it a home to music, entertainment, and hundreds of people. This was my first year in attendance.

My outfit was made in a few days while I was home over Christmas in 2010, with help from my mother. We had both sewing machines set up in the basement working to crank out the skirt and jacket before I flew back to Boston. I can’t believe that was almost 5 years ago now! I was making the outfit to attend a Purim party that I had been invited to by a cute acupuncture student in Boston. Three years later, that cute guy became my husband 🙂

My partner in crime for the weekend was my dear friend Sheila. The event was a surprise from her husband. He recruited me to help her make the outfit and then to take her to the event itself. A girls weekend away from the responsibilities of being the mommy of a two year old.

We arrived early Saturday morning for check in. There were vendors, we had a lovely chat with John Richardson of As they Sew in France  and with the guys of Sweet Steam Confectionery Consortium.

We had a lovely time and met some wonderful people, and, hey, being stopped so people can take photos of your garb is always a flattering plus!!

Leave a Reply

