Purple Shirt for a Dinner Party with Friends

Posted on Updated on

We were invited to a dinner party by a couple my husband and I are friends with back in mid-April. The morning of the party, I decided that I was going to make a shirt to wear that night. I figured if it didn’t work out, no biggy I’d wear something else. So, I set to work sketching a pattern on my muslin. I used one of my favorite shirts as inspiration, a black kimono style shirt. You might remember this purple jersey fabric from a previous project I did!

I took the pattern and cut two on the fold, making a front piece and a back piece.

After cutting out the two pieces, I pinned them right-sides together and sewed them with a 3/8″ seam using a zig-zag stitch to allow for stretch in the jersey fabric. I also sewed one of my tags into the left side seam. It should be noted that this should be done after the primary seam has been stitched, otherwise the edge of the tag will stick out when turned right-side out.

Once the sides were all sewn together, I turned the shirt right-side out and voila!

Leave a Reply

