Floating Island UpCycle

Posted on Updated on

The kitchen in our townhouse is rather small. We have an Ikea desk on giant bed risers acting as most of our surface space.

It is a bit of an eye sore …

My mother and I had been planning to make a replacement piece since my husband and I moved in to the townhouse over the summer. When I went home for Thanksgiving, my mom and I hunted for a good cabinet to use at the base. Luckily, we found one. Thank you ReStore!

When I got home the week of Christmas, we got to work! We made a wheeled base to fit under the cabinet to make it easier to move, and cut out a top piece to fit in the open hole where a counter would go.

My husband and I loaded the beast into our Subaru and started the trek home. Upon reaching our townhouse, we unloaded the cabinet and set off to Home Depot for paint.

We were originally going to stain the piece, but after determining that the sides were not wood but a laminate we went with painting. The paint guy at out local Home Depot was amazing! I am convinced that he saved us from what could have been an ugly argument about paint colors. He talked with us and, after seeing a few pictures of the cabinet, he suggested that we use Rust-Oleum’s Furniture Transformations kit to paint the beast. I am tickled with the results!

We had one heck of a time trying to get the hinges off the left side door. They actually ended up staying on, but we were luckily able to turn them so that I could paint most of the cabinet. This is what it looked like after taking the doors off and drawers out. (Yeah, these were taking with my cell phone not the nice camera.)

First step: The Deglosser. The deglosser is applied with a scrubby pad and is designed to take off any rough bits as well as any glossy finishes that may already be on the piece.

The first Bond Coat is applied after letting the deglosser dry for at least one hour. I left it dry overnight just to be safe. The bond coat is the tinted layer. Be sure to get the paint tinted before leaving the store!

The second Bond Coat is applied 2-3 hours after the first one. After applying the second bond coat layer I left it to dry over night.

Next came the optional Decorative Glaze step. From what I could gather before doing this step, this is the step that gives the depth of a wood finish that we were looking for. So I went for it!

The Decorative Glaze needs to dry for at least 8 hours before the Protective Top Coat is added. The Protective Top Coat is designed to protect the surface from spills and other damage. It takes 12 hours to dry and 7 days to cure completely before cleaners can be used on the surface.

Luckily for us, we had the time to let it hang out in out garage and cure completely as we were waiting on the butcher block top to arrive. Look how beautifully it turned out!

Even though the butcher’s block top had not yet arrived, I cleaned out the kitchen corner. I was dying to reassemble this thing and get it in there!

I can’t tell you how excited I was when it FINALLY arrived! Seriously, look how pretty it is!

Before and Afters

2 thoughts on “Floating Island UpCycle

    atkokosplace said:
    March 6, 2015 at 6:17 pm

    So pretty! You put a lot of time and effort into it and it shows! Yay YOU! 🙂

    Like

      Peach Tailor responded:
      March 6, 2015 at 11:52 pm

      Thank you so much!! I am so proud of how it turned out 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

