Purse Save!

Posted on Updated on

Last weekend, my husband and I were at my mother-in-law’s house helping her with her new computer. Before we left, she took me to her closet and pulled out her favorite purse (well, she called it a pocket book but that is a story for another time). It was a Michael Kors navy number with tan leather trim and handles. The handles were showing a lot of love; they were worn and cracked in the middle, as happens to all leather purses after time and use. She asked me if I could do something to repair or cover it up so she could take it with her to Florida the coming Friday.

I looked at it and said sure, I can do that.

Here’s what I started with:

I’m sure you have had this happened to a bag of yours as well.

My plan was to create a cover that matched the body of the bag. If you’ve never tried to match navy before, OMG it is difficult! I did find something that was as close as I was going to find and headed home.

I was very excited because my plan was to make a binding of my own and wrap that around the damaged, but still functional strap. The excitement came because I had just discovered that I was the proud owner of, not one, but two binding makers that I had inherited from my grandmother. Excited to use them, I got on my task.

After making one strap cover with the small binding maker, I discovered that it was just not as big as I wanted it to be. Luckily, I had a bigger one. This was the ticket! The correct size for my needs.

I hemmed the edges and then placed the first binding on the strap, making sure to line it up with the marks I had measured out earlier. I ran a bead of fabric glue along the edge of the binding and then glued it to the strap. Old fashion wooden clothes pins saved the day and held everything in place while it dried. My fabric glue works on leather. As  general rule, I don’t like to glue fabric, but this case it helped strengthen the already damaged leather straps, and since it has a flexible to it, it will do the job well.

After the glue set, I  hand sewed the seam closed. How lovely it turned out 🙂

2 thoughts on “Purse Save!

    Hello, Scarlett Blog said:
    February 27, 2015 at 2:09 pm

    I love this post! Great job.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    💙
    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

    Liked by 1 person

      Peach Tailor responded:
      February 27, 2015 at 2:16 pm

      Thank you so much!!
      I am glad you enjoyed it and have a lovely weekend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

