Muff Making!

Posted on Updated on

While working on the showcase gown, I had the idea to make a really awesome muff to help keep my hands warm during our shoot. At a location that has an average high temperature of 20 degrees and an average low of  6 degrees Fahrenheit! BURRRRR!!!

Let me take you through how I made the muff!

First, I made up a muslin pattern to ensure that all the pieces would be uniform in size. I took the piece of fleece and folded it in half. I pinned the pattern so the narrow end was on the fold. This makes the inner lining double thick.

I then cut the fur about an inch wider than the lining. In second attempt fold fur in half and pin narrow side of pattern on the fold of the fur (or outer shell fabric) so you end up with a long narrow piece.

My first attempt resulted in the small muff.

I cut the single sized fur to wrap the fleece and added elastic at the ends to help keep the openings tight on my arms.

This resulted in the small muff.

I must admit, it was SUPER WARM! And since I am always cold, I made up one for me to wear on the couch.

After a few days of staring at the small fur muff, I decided that I could do better. Off the the fabric store I went! I came home with quilt batting.

I took apart the small muff and started over from the beginning.

And TA DA!

 

5 thoughts on “Muff Making!

    Amanda said:
    January 17, 2015 at 7:22 am

    Brilliant! 💝

    Liked by 1 person

    Ellen said:
    January 17, 2015 at 6:30 pm

    The larger muff is also more visually appealing. nice job kid.

    Liked by 1 person

    baystateroadrunner said:
    January 19, 2015 at 1:58 am

    I love the big one. Cannot wait until next week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

