The story of my Purim Costume: Finishing work – Pearls and draping

Posted on Updated on

Hello all!

My last finishing task for my Queen Esther costume for this year’s Purim is my draping. I have a gold sheer fabric that will be draped around my shoulders and sewn onto the dress . I have been looking at this draping for a few weeks now trying to figure out how I am going to finish the raw edges of the fabric. Last night if came to me, I was going to sew string pearls along the edges. Now this may seem a bit crazy, but I have done it before. Remember the 18 feet of pearls for my wedding veil? (If not, check it out here Wedding Projects) Quick and dirty math tells me that this project is only half the size.

I sewed and sewed and sewed. I must admit having corners was a nice change from the 18 feet of rounded blusher and longer veil! I seems to be going much faster having those landmarks. It looks lovely.

Now for the attaching. First I pinned the gold and pearl draping onto the dress to make sure that I had it where I wanted it. Next, I sewed the drape on by hand. After that I attached the decorative buttons. Part of me thinks I should have used bigger pearls.

After sewing the back drapes into place about 2 inches off the zipper I held the dress up thinking it was complete. I was wrong. The draping was too heavy for the flimsy back to hold up. Back to the drawing board. I ripped it off and moved the back draping hold point to the back of the strap. This proved to be a much more solid hold point.

TA DA the dress is complete. Sorry no pictures of me in it yet. You will have to wait until May when I do a photo shoot with Bowker House Photography (Check them out here: Bowker House Photography)

One thought on “The story of my Purim Costume: Finishing work – Pearls and draping

    Queen Esther Dress Reveal | The Exalted Tailor said:
    June 13, 2014 at 10:18 am

    […] The story of my Purim Costume: Finishing work – Pearls and draping […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

