The story of my Purim Costume: Finishing work – Hems and Seam Repairs

Posted on Updated on

Next on my finishing agenda, hems and seam repair! Every gown, every dress, every skirt, every pant leg, needs to be hemmed, and this dress is no exception. First, I tried on the dress to determine where I wanted to hem to fall. As it puddled around my feet I knew that I would be taking it up a few inches. I also wanted to be sure that I could walk without tripping over it, so I took that into account too. Because it is difficult to pin a hem when you are the one wearing the dress I took it off, put it on a hanger and hung it on my pantry door. I pinned and then put the dress on to make sure that the hem fell correctly. Then it is hand sewing to complete that hem.

 

Next on my list was fixing a hole in the bodice seam. This started as a bad fold, so I had to rip it out and re-sew it. Simple, straight forward. Done.

And last on today’s list is finishing the bodice lining. I hand sewed the lining to the inside hem of the bodice and contrasting fabric. This is something that I feel you should do. It is polishing, finishing work and it, in my opinion, is a sign of a more professional seamstress.

So close to the finish! Next, I sew on the draping!

One thought on “The story of my Purim Costume: Finishing work – Hems and Seam Repairs

    Queen Esther Dress Reveal | The Exalted Tailor said:
    June 13, 2014 at 10:18 am

    […] The story of my Purim Costume: Finishing work – Hems and Seam Repair […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

