Thanksgiving Project

Posted on Updated on

As many of you may know by now, I am a bit of an insomniac. Or maybe unfortunately nocturnal. Some nights, I just cannot force my mind to quiet down to let me sleep. Tonight is one of those nights.

After crawling into bed at 8pm, convinced I was going to fall asleep standing up, I was still up at 11p, so I started roaming the apartment with an idea. A fixation that seemed, at the time, better than sleep.

What idea, you ask, could pull me from my cozy bed with my new, snuggly husband? Chair covers. More specifically, chair covers for those ugly folding chairs that we are going to be borrowing for our up coming Friendsgiving event next month.

After pulling out patterns and doodling up drafts the following projects emerged:

Project at Hand: Chair Covers

Seat covers 002

Initial Thoughts:  The directions are confusing, I’ll just make my own up (nothing can go wrong there!)

Pattern Used: McCall’s Home Decorating M4404

Fabric: Yet to be determined, but really liking the idea of a cream cotton blend. Neutral to go with any table cloth we use, and machine washable. I will need 2 yards, per chair, of 54″ durable, home decor fabric.

Seat covers 010

Notions: The pattern calls for 2 1/2 yards of 1/2 inch sew in cording. I think I am going to skip this part.

Secondary Project: Seat Cushion

Initial Thoughts: If we are having chair covers on half of our chairs, we should tie the other half in with something. Seat cushions for the hard wood chairs we have now would be nice 🙂

Pattern Used: Making my own

Fabric: Matching the cream cotton blend of the chair covers.

Seat covers 010

Notions: Four ties to attach the cushion to the chair back, as well as 1″ foam padding (20″ x 20″) for cushion filler.

Now, to get the hubby’s blessing on the project, then off I go! Maybe I will ask him in the morning 😉

 

**SIDE NOTE**

It is actually a good thing that I did not make these because we ended up getting actual  chairs instead of the folding chairs, the folding chair covers never would have fit.

One thought on “Thanksgiving Project

    tmas responded:
    October 29, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    Due to the hours of my current work assignment, I don’t believe I will be completing this project soon. 10 yards of fabric is not cheap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

