Wedding Projects

Posted on Updated on

At the time I write this post I am 134 days from my wedding date; but who’s counting, right? This article, assuming that everything goes correctly, will post October 5th somewhere in the middle of my nuptials. I must admit that I find this to be a cool feature 🙂

I lead off with the story of the making of my wedding veils … yeah I made two. The first was a birdcage veil. I was in love with the idea, so classic. I went so far as to make one. After making it, and wearing it around my apartment, I decided that I did not like having anything that close to my eyes. I thought maybe I would salvage it and wear it differently, hence the below picture …

IMG_2360

… but once I found the dress that veil just didn’t work with the silhouette.

So I let my mother and MOH play dress up with me as their Barbie. We found a traditional style veil that I loved. Then I choked on the price (almost $200.00) for tulle and shiny beads!!

I am a crafty, crafty person, and when I saw what the bridal salon was charging for the veil, I decided to make my own.

 

The inspiration veil

I took a close look at how it was made and went to the pattern tower in my basement. I found Butterick pattern (B4487) with the veil base I was looking for:

After picking the design base (option B), buying the fabric (3 1/2 yds) of a nice ivory tulle, and several spools of string pearls I set to work. The veil pattern was HUGE, it took up almost all of my full size bed. This pattern has a blusher but I have already decided that I will not be wearing it over my face. It does add nice dimension to the draping of the veil. Making the tulle base of the veil was the easy part. Sewing it onto the hair comb was a little tricky, mostly because I was tired and kept flipping the comb the wrong way. But, by far, the most challenging part was sewing the 18 feet of stringed pearls to the circumference of the veil. It took over 7 hours to do. In the end it was worth not being able to see straight. It turned out beautifully.

 

I cannot wait to see how everything looks all put together on my wedding day 🙂

UPDATE:

Pictures of my veil from my wedding day

One thought on “Wedding Projects

    […] done it before. Remember the 18 feet of pearls for my wedding veil? (If not, check it out here Wedding Projects) Quick and dirty math tells me that this project is only half the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

