Wall AC Unit cover

Posted on Updated on

Our apartment has two wall AC units. They are lovely in the summer, but now that it is officially fall they are causing cold drafts in our apartment. To save money, and my poor little toesies, I have started to winterize.

First step: Make the unit airtight.

I wrapped the apartment side of the unit with trash bags. This is the front unit in the apartment. The unit has been taped up tightly. I must admit, just doing this has stopped the draft and I am already feeling warmer!

Second Step: Design pattern

Now, as you can see, that plastic wrapped wall unit is rather unattractive. My next step is to measure out the box and determine the size the pieces need to be.

Third Step: Create pattern to use to cut out the pieces.

Supplies:

  • Fleece
  • Paper
  • Pen
  • Tape
  • Scissors
  • Tape Measuring

AC unit 006

Fourth Step: Make a cover for the unit

I sewed the side pieces together first making a tube. I then pinned the tube to the front piece, creating half a box.

I placed the cover over the AC unit to get an idea of how much room I have to work with for the elastic edges. It appears that I have over an inch of room to work with.

Fifth Step: fold edges over to make a casing for the elastic (or tie) that will hold the cover on the AC unit.

Last Step: Put the cover on and enjoy a warmer apartment 🙂

Leave a Reply

