Last night’s projects

Posted on Updated on

Last weekend, I, driven by my fiance, cleaned up, organized, and packed up most of my sewing stuff. It had grown to epic proportions. Meaning that, all my ‘project bags’ were essentially overwhelming the apartment. I am also trying to bring everything under control because I am moving in a few months. SO we managed to get all my fabric into a huge black tub. Granted, it had to be duct taped closed, but it did close 🙂 During this multi hour process, we found many half-finished projects. I made a pile of them to be finished over the weekends that I am here alone.

Of these half-finished projects, I cranked out four last night.

  • Toddler Fleece Winter Hat
  • Cotton Baby Mitts
  • Cotton Diaper Cover
  • Seat Belt Wrap

The fleece winter hat is for my godson. I had started this project two winters ago when I found out his mother was pregnant with him. I had been working on two other projects for my fiance’s niece at the time and just got sewed out. The fleece hat is a pastel green with manly little pom-pom balls.

Craft Projects May 10th 2013 002

The cotton baby mitts – the kind that you put on to keep the baby from scratching themself  – was also started for my godson (who is 13 months old now). This has become a baby gift for his on-the-way baby brother. As is the matching cotton diaper cover. The fabric is a cute pastel blue with a nautical motif.

Craft Projects May 10th 2013 003Craft Projects May 10th 2013 005

The Seat Belt Wrap has been an idea of mine for YEARS! I have sensitive skin, I can’t wear wool because it is very itchy and my skin breaks out into a rash – not fun. Seat belts touching bare skin, as tends to happen in the summer when one wears a tank top, is a very unpleasant experience for me as it has similar results. I measured my seat belt width against that of my omnipresent cell phone and made an on the fly chic seat belt wrap with leftover fabric from the tea towel project of last month.

Craft Projects May 10th 2013 004

Tea Towel project to come.

Leave a Reply

